Federer Takes the Maximum Merit at the Laureus World Sports Academy Awards

It was not surprising when tennis number one Roger Federer was named Laureus World Sportsman of the Year for a consecutive third year in a row 2005, 2006 and now 2007. The 25-year-old Swiss now made yet another mark when he became the first sportsman to receive the award on three occasions since they first awarded it in 2000 to golfer Tiger Woods who is the second one on the mark, winning the award twice in 2000 and 2001.

The panel of the Laureus World Sports Academy composed of 42 members picked Federer for the top honor over a group of finalists that included world golf No. 1 Woods and former Formula One champion Michael Schumacher.

He was persistent to display his constant domination of men’s tennis in 2006 by winning three more Grand Slam titles with his victories at the Australian Open, Wimbledon and U.S. Open.

Yelena Isinbayeva, russia’s record-breaking pole vaulter, won the award for Laureus World Sports Award for Sportswoman of the Year. Isinbayeva broke her 20th pole vault world record when she set a new indoor mark of 4.93 meters in February. She looked pleased to be given acknowledgment for her outstanding achievements after three nominations for the award.

The team of the year award went to the Italy National Football team for their World Cup triumph, this is the first time that Italy has won this award.

The Breakthrough of the year went to tennis player Amelie Mauresmo; USA Serena Williams took the Comeback of the Year Award. Also, Spanish football giants Barcelona won the Spirit of Sport award, and German legend Franz Beckenbauer won the Laureus Lifetime Achievement award.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.